Nepal Abu Abdo
Although the SRMUN conference finished last night, this conference will make me remember all the great skills and the amazing delegates that I was able to meet during the conference. Prior to going to the conference I did not know what to expect, I was very nervous about conducting myself as a delegate especially when it came to procedures. I was also nervous about how to interact with other delegates if it came to a topic that was not necessarily aligned with our countries interests. Although I had those fears prior to going to the conference, I felt better once I got the chance to interact with other delegates in the prep sessions as we moved towards our first committee session. When I got done with the first committee session, I was nervous to interact with other countries but the next day I was able to really learn the role of a delegate. Throughout the conference I learned that it takes much more than what we might think it does to negotiate as a diplomat between other countries.
There were certainly struggles throughout the conference dealing with report writing because of the different perspectives each country had.The conference has not only taught me what it means to be a diplomat but that there are some important skills and ideas to keep in mind when it comes to being a delegate. One of the main obstacles that I needed to overcome as a delegate is to figure how to be a diplomat when you do not agree on topics discussed with other countries. Another obstacle is how to balance the collaboration between other countries so that we may pass a report to benefit Member States.
As a delegate you learn how to listen, collaborate, and learn with other countries to find a common solution to help in any way you can. These skills are not only important for delegates but important for us as the future leaders to understand what it means to be and become a diplomat. I am forever grateful to have had the opportunity to attend the SRMUN conference this year. I not only learned new skills that will help me in the future but I got to meet new students who were great to collaborate with. SRMUN was truly a great experience that I will always cherish and be thankful for. I am also thankful for the great learning experiences that I was able to obtain during Model UN, that helped me prepare for the conference.

Leave a Reply

